If it’s not early in the morning, it’s late at night

I just realized I’m rather fond of photographing at really peculiar hours. A dawn shoot is somewhat understandable, but late nights are an oddity. Except if you’re into rock photography, like I am.

Sunrise Avenue @Logomo, Turku

Sunrise Avenue @Logomo, Turku

Poets of the Fall @Apollo Live Club, Turku

Poets of the Fall @Apollo Live Club, Turku

It all started with me having an awakening about music. This happened relatively late in my life, while I was a university student, to be more exact. Most people start listening to certain bands at a very early age, but I never really had a favourite band when I was a teenager. But when I got to know some people who were into music, bands and gigs, I got drawn in. Add into the mix a few new semi-professional & professional musician friends (I know more bassists than is probably healthy for anyone) and I’ve had a really enlightening past 15 or so years.

One of my bassist friends with his darling

One of my bassist friends with his darling

Once I found a few bands I really liked (Nightwish was among the first ones that I can call myself a fan of), I started to save up some money for concerts. As a uni student it wasn’t always possible to go to all the gigs I would’ve wanted to, but as soon as I got a frequent paycheck, some of my money was always spent on music.

Sonata Arctica @Logomo, Turku

Sonata Arctica @Logomo, Turku

And I’d always take my camera with me. A tiny little pocket Canon at first, then, a bridge model Canon. The shots that I got with that started to get some positive feedback and once I got my first DSLR, oh my. A new world!

Von Hertzen Brothers @Kaivohuone, Naantali

Von Hertzen Brothers @Kaivohuone, Naantali

Von Hertzen Brothers @Klubi, Turku

Von Hertzen Brothers @Klubi, Turku

I consider myself lucky in the sense that I had made friends with a person who eventually asked if I’d like to write articles and shoot photos for an online rock mag she herself was volunteering with. Sure! Not only does this volunteering give me a chance to hear some new music before it hits the stores, but also it does give me the occasional accreditation for a gig. And that, I can tell you, has been ridiculously cool. Besides, since I love writing, photography and music, can there be a better thing to do than to assist a rock mag with some article writing and gig shots?

The Blanko, featuring Eicca Toppinen @Virgin Oil. Helsinki

The Blanko, featuring Eicca Toppinen @Virgin Oil. Helsinki

In other words, that’s something I love to do and I’m planning on incorporating some gig report type posts here as well. But this time around, the shots are from past gigs of some of my favourite bands. Expect to see more of them later.

The Blanko @Virgin Oil, Helsinki

The Blanko @Virgin Oil, Helsinki

This entry was posted in Rock photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If it’s not early in the morning, it’s late at night

  1. WhoseEarHoosier says:

    Great photos. You’ve got me aching to buy a plane ticket back to Finland.

Leave a Reply

