Best of 2013 – My Photo Moments

Sorry about the long silence on the blog front. Work and other duties (the paying kind) have required my attention to such an extent that I’ve been forced to cut down on screen time at home. My back’s just not what it used to be…

Anyway, I’m still here, and have several ideas for blog posts brewing – so there might actually be a few posts during my Christmas vacation.

And as 2013 is nearing its end, it’s appropriate to do all sorts of “year in review” -posts, isn’t it? I thought I’d write a few. The first one I’d like to dedicate to the best photo moments I had this year. Knowing how I’ve been struggling with my photo mojo lately, I’m guessing this post will be mostly about the first three quarters of the year…

In January I was shooting mostly black and white. The best frame of the month (and one of the best of the year, in my opinion) happened when I decided to pull over to a bus stop on my way home from work, open the car window and shoot a few frames of the scene. The shot I got made me very happy. I sent it to a gallery in the US (Los Angeles, to be more exact) for a winter themed photo exhibition and it was accepted. One of my very first shots to ever be exhibited internationally.

You would think we'd have more snow in Finland in January...

You would think we’d have more snow in Finland in January…

My next moment of personal photo triumph was in April, when I finished my 365 Project year. I managed to post a new photo to the project every day for a year (well, there was one filler shot, but I made up for it by continuing posting every day until I had a full 365 without fillers) and my final image turned out to be pretty popular. It made it to the Project’s Popular Page (a merit in itself within the site) and eventually to the Top20 list for that week, as well. I was quite stoked.

It's a sign of the approaching summer when the fun fair comes to town. I had started my project with a shot from the same fun fair a year earlier. Seemed appropriate to finish with one, as well.

It’s a sign of the approaching summer when the fun fair comes to town. I had started my project with a shot from the same fun fair a year earlier. Seemed appropriate to finish with one, as well.

During the summer there were quite a few good photo opportunities, including my first ever trip to the Mediterranean. My summer vacation is long enough for me to do all kinds of stuff, loads of photo walks included. I’ve posted the shot I think is the best one from Crete already earlier (three boys walking towards the lighthouse in Chania), so I’ll give you a different summer shot.

Stockholm's Gamla Stan

Stockholm’s Gamla Stan

Later in the summer I had a few inspired moments, when I fought off my sleepiness and went to capture the sunrise. Got some really nice shots from all of that. Some I already posted when I started this blog. But here’s a shot I didn’t post before, but that I like quite a bit.

Soft sunrise by the sea. The image is an excellent reminder of how it felt to be out shooting in the dewy dawn. Definitely one of my favourite photo moments of the year, that morning.

Soft sunrise by the sea. The image is an excellent reminder of how it felt to be out shooting in the dewy dawn. Definitely one of my favourite photo moments of the year, that morning.

This was about the time when I started this blog, so after this shot I’ve actually posted quite a few of my favourite shots of the year. However, an honorable mention goes to the following shot, which I took when I actually found an ancient burial mound within a 10 minute walk from my place. I had had no idea it’s there. The shot was taken in December – we’ve been having a very mild start to the winter, no proper snowfall as of yet, which explains the surprisingly green view. (On a side note, I just LOVE the Aperture plugins by NIK software. They do wonders to forest shots like these. Or at least that’s how I feel.)

The ancient (neolithic, to be precise, I think) burial mound is in the foreground. There was a misty, rainy feeling to the day and about 30 minutes after I shot this, I was already rained on.

The ancient (neolithic, to be precise, I think) burial mound is in the foreground. There was a misty, rainy feeling to the day and about 30 minutes after I shot this, I was already rained on.

Then there were the gigs and the burning steel wool shots. But I’ll make separate posts of them later. In other words, expect a “Best gigs of 2013” post and a burning hot post in the immediate future.

If I don’t get those posts written before the Jolly Yuletide is upon us all, I hope you have a wonderful time with your near and dear ones. May the season be all that you’re hoping it to be.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Nature photography, Travel photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

