September mists

It’s that time of the year again. Almost every morning I wake up and see that the world is covered in mist. On some mornings it’s just wisps here and there, on some mornings it’s difficult to see more than a few meters ahead of you. I love how mist makes the world look so soft and mysterious. And the quality of light is usually amazing on misty mornings. Photo opportunities fly by as on weekdays I drive to work and am not allowed to stop by the roadside for shooting some frames…

EmergingWhich is why it’s also that time of the year again when I go sunrise crazy on weekends. Well, perhaps only once or twice, but anyway. Yesterday I did what is now a two-year-old (this being the second year…) tradition. Woke up at 4 am, packed a breakfast picnic and my camera gear in a bag, drove an hour and greeted the sunrise (at 6.35 am) with a click of the shutter. Got some really nice pics again, so I’m thinking this whole waking up at ridiculous o’clock is still worth it. Next year I may have to change location, though. We’ll see, come next September and the first weekend of it.

Still lifeBut this year’s morning trek location was the nature park around Lake Matilda, in Mathildedal. Which is in Teijo. Lovely surroundings, easily accessible trekking paths. This year I didn’t get quite as lost as last year when I had to take the really long way back to the car, but I did hike somewhere around 10 km in any case. The sound of silence and of nature waking up, the perfect stillness of the moment… My soul’s at ease on these mornings.

IMG_6601Go and catch a misty sunrise! I guarantee it’s worth the early wake up!

This entry was posted in Nature photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September mists

  1. I agree … there is nothing like a misty sunrise. We are coming into that time of year when it happens more frequently. Great images and post!

    • Johanna Ahonen says:

      Thanks, Denise! I hope you get to shoot a few misty sunrises this year, too! I find it not only artistically inspiring but also very calming to be out at the time of sunrise. Especially in a place where it’s quiet and you can concentrate on the sounds of nature waking up, little by little.

Leave a Reply

